← Peach State Pulse
Unofficial demonstration dashboard

Habersham County Pulse

The adopted budget and audited financials of Habersham County, Georgia — every figure taken from the county’s own published documents, labeled by fiscal year and accounting basis.

County seat: Clarkesville · Fiscal year ends June 30 (FY2026 = July 1, 2025 – June 30, 2026) · Population 48,757, as printed in the FY2026 budget book (sourced there to DataUSA / Census QuickFacts / GDOL); the FY2025 audit prints the same figure as its 2023 figure — it is not a 2025 or 2026 population count.

⚠ Spot re-verification notice — FY2025 audited figures

Every FY2025 audited figure on this page was extracted while the UGA TED portal was down: the portal returned HTTP 503 (“Down for maintenance”) on every direct-download attempt on October 23, 2026. The figures therefore come from the search-indexed full text of the ACFR PDF, not from a direct download of the document. Each figure was confirmed two independent ways within the text (a table footing plus a second statement or table) before inclusion. These audited figures are subject to spot re-verification against the PDF when TED recovers. FY2026 adopted figures are unaffected — they come from a direct PDF download of the county’s budget book.

FY2026 Adopted Budget

FY2026 Adopted

From the county’s Annual Budget FY 2026, approved June 30, 2025. Headline totals are the budget book’s own government-wide summary-table totals (pp. 36–37), which foot exactly — see the transmittal-letter disclosure below.

$75,549,731
Total adopted budget — all funds (expenditures / expenses)
FY2026 Adopted
$69,653,262
Total adopted revenues — all funds
FY2026 Adopted
$5,896,469
Total adopted other sources (net) — all funds
FY2026 Adopted
$38,482,407
General Fund adopted budget (balanced: expenditures = total sources)
FY2026 Adopted
$15,675,546
SPLOST VII Fund adopted expenditures (fund statement)
FY2026 Adopted
$2,294,146
Hospital Debt Service Fund adopted expenditures
FY2026 Adopted

Adopted budget by fund

FY2026 Adopted

Government-wide combining summary. Every fund balances: revenues + other sources = expenditures. The SPLOST column is the combining-summary presentation, net of the fund’s $158,222 transfer toward Landfill capital (see Disclosures); the component-unit column is the Development Authority, a separate component unit — not a county fund.

FundRevenuesOther sources (uses), netExpenditures / Expenses
General Fund$38,318,796$163,611$38,482,407
Special Revenue Funds$11,243,830$1,033,430$12,277,260
Hospital Bond (Debt Service) Fund$3,544,146−$1,250,000$2,294,146
Capital Improvements (CIP) Fund$70,740$1,056,396$1,127,136
SPLOST Fund (summary basis)$11,845,000$3,672,324$15,517,324
Enterprise Funds$4,577,750$1,161,712$5,739,462
Component Unit (Development Authority)$53,000$58,996$111,996
Total$69,653,262$5,896,469$75,549,731

Other-sources detail (p. 37): interfund transfers net to $0 across funds; appropriated fund balance $5,850,436 (General $1,098,028; SPLOST $3,830,546; Enterprise $921,862); reserve for fund balance −$12,963 (Special Revenue); sale of assets $58,996 (component unit). The combining summary counts the Authority’s $58,996 sale of assets as an other source, while the Authority’s own statement counts it in revenues — the same $111,996 total both ways.

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 / Operating & Capital Budget FY2026 — Habersham County, Georgia (adopted), government-wide combining summary, pp. 36–37. County Document Center listing (“FY 2026 Budget,” file ID 10343)

General Fund revenues by source

FY2026 Adopted

Adopted General Fund revenues of $38,318,796. Taxes as printed subtotal $30,904,731 of that total.

Property taxes
$23,042,151
Motor vehicle tax
$3,080,000
Intergovernmental
$3,071,253
Insurance premium tax
$2,990,000
Fines, fees & forfeitures
$1,585,800
Collection commissions
$1,080,000
Alcohol excise tax
$612,000
Recreation fees & services
$551,500
Intangible tax
$415,000
Other charges for services
$373,400
Building permits
$350,000
Occupational tax
$211,000
Mobile home tax
$210,000
Real estate transfer tax
$160,000
Rental income
$154,712
Cost, penalties and interest
$150,000
Contributions
$70,000
Interest
$63,000
Sheriff services
$38,400
Fire protection
$35,000
Other taxes (other)
$34,000
Miscellaneous
$25,500
Other permits
$15,000
Prisoner board
$500
Timber tax
$500
Franchise tax
$80
Total revenues
$38,318,796

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 36, 40. County Document Center listing

General Fund expenditures by function

FY2026 Adopted

Adopted General Fund operating expenditures of $38,482,407 — revenues of $38,318,796 plus net other sources of $163,611. The budget book’s department-level summary (pp. 44–49) independently totals the same $38,482,407.

Public safety
$16,949,945
General government
$13,599,451
Judicial
$5,034,955
Recreation & culture
$1,746,675
Housing & development
$849,293
Health & welfare
$302,088
Total operating expenditures
$38,482,407

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 36, 40. County Document Center listing

General Fund other sources & uses

How the General Fund gets from $38,318,796 of revenues to its balanced $38,482,407.

Transfer in — Hospital Bond tax$1,250,000
Appropriated fund balance$1,098,028
Transfer in — Hotel/Motel$150,000
Transfer in — Jail Fund$70,000
Transfer out — CIP Fund−$1,056,396
Transfer out — E911 Fund−$1,011,550
Transfer out — Senior Center−$254,843
Transfer out — Transit Fund−$81,628
Net other sources$163,611

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), p. 41. County Document Center listing

Special Revenue Funds

FY2026 Adopted

Adopted totals for the county’s special revenue fund group: revenues $11,243,830, other sources (net) $1,033,430, expenditures $12,277,260.

Revenues by source

Other charges for services
$3,790,693
Intergovernmental
$3,786,359
Property taxes
$2,920,205
Fines, fees & forfeitures
$402,423
Miscellaneous
$344,100
Interest
$50
Total revenues
$11,243,830

Expenditures by function

Public safety
$7,810,956
Judicial
$3,520,635
Health & welfare
$682,277
Recreation & culture
$113,392
General government
$100,000
Housing & development
$50,000
Total expenditures
$12,277,260

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), p. 36. County Document Center listing

Capital funds & SPLOST

FY2026 Adopted

Capital Improvements Fund

Revenues (miscellaneous)$70,740
Transfer in from General Fund$1,056,396
Capital outlay expenditures$1,127,136

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 170–173.

SPLOST VI Fund

SPLOST VI collections ended in March 2021. Its FY2026 adopted revenues, expenditures, and other sources are all $0.

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 198–201.

SPLOST VII Fund — fund statement basis

Revenues of $11,845,000 plus appropriated fund balance of $3,830,546 fund capital outlay of $15,675,546. Basis note: the budget book’s government-wide combining summary presents this fund net of its $158,222 transfer toward Landfill capital and shows expenditures of $15,517,324 (see the by-fund table above); the fund statement itself shows $15,675,546. Both presentations are the book’s own — see Disclosures.

SPLOST revenue$10,500,000
Grants$845,000
Interest$500,000
Total revenues$11,845,000
Appropriated fund balance$3,830,546

Expenditures by project (capital outlay)

Animal Control
$4,680,000
Roads & Bridges
$4,619,000
Countywide
$3,470,100
E-911
$1,764,485
Fire
$563,739
Sheriff
$420,000
Landfill
$158,222
Total expenditures
$15,675,546

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), SPLOST VII fund statement pp. 202–203; expenditure detail p. 205. County Document Center listing

Component unit — Industrial Development Authority

A discretely presented component unit of the county — not a county fund. Shown here only as the budget book presents it.

Sale of assets$58,996
Interest$45,000
Reimbursement of utilities$8,000
Total revenues$111,996
Operating$103,310
Personal services$8,686
Capital outlay$0
Total expenditures$111,996

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 228–229 (component unit).

Hospital Debt Service & Enterprise Funds

FY2026 Adopted

Hospital Debt Service Fund

Revenues (taxes)$3,544,146
Principal$1,045,000
Interest$1,221,466
Contracted services$19,680
Bank fees$6,500
Legal$1,500
Total expenditures$2,294,146
Transfer out to General Fund−$1,250,000

Balanced: $3,544,146 of tax revenue − the $1,250,000 transfer out = $2,294,146 of expenditures.

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 208–209.

Enterprise Funds

FundRevenuesOther sourcesExpenses
Landfill (incl. Recycling)$2,225,000$510,218$2,735,218
Transit$110,694$81,628$192,322
Airport$2,242,056$569,866$2,811,922
Total Enterprise$4,577,750$1,161,712$5,739,462

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), pp. 212–225.

Enterprise fund detail

Landfill revenues — charges for sales/services $2,135,000 + interest $90,000$2,225,000
Landfill expenses — personal services $1,144,875 + cost of sales/services $1,100,343 + depreciation $490,000$2,735,218
Landfill by department — Solid Waste $2,592,187 + Recycling (new for FY2026) $143,031$2,735,218
Transit revenues — intergovernmental $88,194 + charges $22,500$110,694
Transit expenses — personal services $142,513 + cost of sales/services $49,809$192,322
Airport revenues — intergovernmental $1,305,506 + fuel sales $750,000 + rent $161,400 + charges $21,600 + miscellaneous $3,550$2,242,056
Airport expenses — capital expenditures $1,788,546 + cost of sales/services $707,610 + personnel services $315,766$2,811,922

Source: Annual Budget FY 2026 (adopted), Landfill pp. 212–217; Transit pp. 218–221; Airport pp. 222–225. County Document Center listing

FY2025 Audited Financials

FY2025 Audited

From the Annual Comprehensive Financial Report for the fiscal year ended June 30, 2025 — independent auditor Rushton, LLC (Gainesville, Georgia), report dated December 26, 2025, unmodified opinions. All figures below carry the spot re-verification notice at the top of this page. Fund basis (modified accrual) and government-wide basis (accrual) figures are labeled and never mixed.

$72,677,015
Total net position — primary government (June 30, 2025)
FY2025 Audited · Gov-wide
+$1,969,568
Change in net position — total primary government, FY2025
FY2025 Audited · Gov-wide
$29,606,842
Total governmental fund balances (June 30, 2025)
FY2025 Audited · Fund basis
$6,513,644
General Fund fund balance (of which $1,774,089 unassigned)
FY2025 Audited · Fund basis
$37,870,855
General Fund revenues (actual) vs. expenditures (actual) of $37,716,285
FY2025 Audited · Fund basis
$11,176,530
Bonded debt outstanding — bonds payable, governmental
FY2025 Audited

Net position

FY2025 Audited

Statement of Net Position, June 30, 2025 — government-wide basis (accrual).

ComponentGovernmentalBusiness-typeTotal primary gov’t
Net investment in capital assets$24,000,405$31,395,818$55,396,223
Restricted$10,918,866$0$10,918,866
Unrestricted$10,119,966−$3,758,040$6,361,926
Total net position$45,039,237$27,637,778$72,677,015
Restricted — capital outlay$7,936,685
Restricted — public safety$1,577,625
Restricted — debt service$983,240
Restricted — judicial$405,583
Restricted — grant specifications$15,733
Capital assets, net (primary government)$103,351,051
Total liabilities (primary government)$72,033,995
Component units net position (Development Authority $3,914,961 + Health Department $620,612) — not county net position$4,535,573

Source: Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, FY ended June 30, 2025 (audited), Statement of Net Position, pp. 17–18. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503 — see re-verification notice.

Governmental activities — government-wide basis

FY2025 Audited

Accrual basis, Statement of Activities. Governmental activities: revenues $63,231,004 against expenses of $57,335,107 — a change in net position of +$5,781,086.

Expenses by function

Public safety
$26,083,312
General government
$9,755,863
Public works
$8,332,381
Judicial
$6,869,142
Culture and recreation
$2,599,959
Interest on long-term debt
$1,457,589
Housing and development
$1,251,020
Health and welfare
$985,841
Total governmental expenses
$57,335,107

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Statement of Activities, p. 19. ACFR PDF (UGA TED)

Program revenues

Charges for services$8,585,958
Operating grants$4,844,155
Capital grants$2,997,510
Total program revenues$16,427,623
Net (expense) revenue−$40,907,484

General revenues

Property taxes$29,990,762
Sales tax$10,493,189
Insurance premium tax$2,842,769
Other taxes$1,253,074
Gain on sale of assets$1,097,712
Intangible tax$490,909
Other$576,550
Investment income$58,416
Total general revenues$46,803,381
Less transfers out−$114,811

Business-type activities

Expenses — Landfill$3,688,916
Expenses — Airport$3,402,468
Expenses — Transit$199,330
Total business-type expenses$7,290,714
Total revenues (excluding transfers)$3,364,385
Change in net position−$3,811,518

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Statement of Activities p. 19; Proprietary Funds statement p. 28; MD&A. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Governmental funds — fund basis

FY2025 Audited

Modified accrual basis, all governmental funds. Total revenues $62,149,123 against total expenditures of $66,133,200. The revenue total is confirmed two ways in the ACFR: by source (below) and by fund — General $37,870,855 + Emergency Medical Services $4,965,217 + Opioid Settlement $94,568 + SPLOST #7 $13,218,209 + Nonmajor $6,000,274.

Revenues by source

Taxes
$45,048,149
Intergovernmental
$7,199,723
Charges for services
$6,391,601
Fines, fees and forfeitures
$1,764,628
Investment income
$652,584
Other
$576,550
Licenses and permits
$389,987
Contributions
$125,901
Total revenues
$62,149,123

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Governmental Funds Statement of Revenues, Expenditures and Changes in Fund Balances, p. 22. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Expenditures by function — fund basis

All governmental funds, modified accrual basis. The expenditure total is confirmed two ways in the ACFR: by function (below) and by fund — General $37,716,285 + Emergency Medical Services $4,558,766 + Opioid Settlement $75,370 + SPLOST #7 $14,316,077 + Nonmajor $9,466,702 = $66,133,200. “Intergovernmental” ($3,086,487, SPLOST #7 municipal allocations) and the single combined “Debt service” line are printed rows in the statement and are shown as printed.

Public safety (current)
$23,665,795
Capital outlay
$10,199,654
General government (current)
$8,948,389
Judicial (current)
$6,271,861
Debt service
$5,760,768
Public works (current)
$3,870,291
Intergovernmental
$3,086,487
Culture and recreation (current)
$2,447,795
Housing and development (current)
$953,586
Health and welfare (current)
$928,574
Total expenditures
$66,133,200

Other financing sources (uses) — all governmental funds

Transfers in$6,058,386
Transfers out−$6,173,197
Proceeds from sale of assets$1,101,905
Issuance of long-term debt$8,190,825
Net other financing sources$9,177,919

Revenues fell $3,984,077 short of expenditures; with net other financing sources of $9,177,919, the net change in governmental fund balances was +$5,193,842 — driven by new long-term debt, not an operating surplus (see Disclosures).

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Governmental Funds Statement of Revenues, Expenditures and Changes in Fund Balances, p. 22. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Fund balances

FY2025 Audited — EXTRACTED-UNDER-503

Governmental funds, fund basis (modified accrual), June 30, 2025. Total governmental fund balances of $29,606,842 — up $5,193,842 from the July 1 balance of $24,413,000.

Fund balances by fund

FundFund balance
SPLOST #7$19,297,249
General Fund$6,513,644
Nonmajor governmental funds$3,021,550
Emergency Medical Services$412,681
Opioid Settlement$361,718
Total governmental fund balances$29,606,842

Rollforward: beginning fund balances $24,413,000 + net change $5,193,842 = $29,606,842.

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Governmental Funds Balance Sheet, p. 20; statement p. 22. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Composition — total governmental funds

Restricted — capital outlay$17,972,519
Nonspendable — prepaid items$2,433,547
Assigned — government projects$2,454,535
Unassigned$1,774,089
Assigned — capital outlay$1,287,587
Assigned — subsequent year’s budget$1,098,028
Restricted — debt service$983,240
Restricted — public safety$695,744
Assigned — public safety$412,681
Restricted — judicial$405,583
Assigned — health and welfare$68,037
Restricted — grant specifications$15,733
Nonspendable — leases$5,519
Total$29,606,842

Composition — General Fund

Assigned — government projects$2,454,535
Unassigned$1,774,089
Nonspendable — prepaid items$1,108,817
Assigned — subsequent year’s budget$1,098,028
Restricted — public safety$72,656
Nonspendable — leases$5,519
Total General Fund balance$6,513,644

General Fund unassigned balance of $1,774,089 is about 27% of the General Fund’s total balance and about 4.7% of its $37,716,285 of expenditures (MD&A).

Balance Sheet equation & reconciliation to net position

Total liabilities (governmental funds)$8,752,272
Deferred inflows of resources$1,106,327
Fund balances$29,606,842
Total assets (governmental funds)$39,465,441

Reconciliation to governmental net position (p. 21): fund balances $29,606,842 + capital assets, net $71,135,740 + deferred inflows reported in the funds $1,106,327 + deferred outflows $636,139 − deferred inflows (pensions) $231,909 − long-term liabilities not reported in the funds $57,213,902 = net position of governmental activities $45,039,237.

Contracts payable$31,665,982
Bonds payable$11,176,530
Certificates of participation$5,373,347
Compensated absences$2,727,896
Net pension liability (governmental)$2,675,017
Notes payable$2,461,478
Leases payable$628,319
Interest payable$505,333
Long-term liabilities not reported in the funds$57,213,902

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Governmental Funds Balance Sheet p. 20; reconciliation p. 21. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

General Fund — budget vs. actual

FY2025 Audited — EXTRACTED-UNDER-503

General Fund budget (GAAP) and actual for FY2025. Actual revenues of $37,870,855 and actual expenditures of $37,716,285 tie to the fund statement (p. 22). Budget columns are shown as printed in the schedule.

⚠ Budget-column balances are not actual balances

The schedule’s budget columns print a July 1 fund balance of $1,400,000 (the amount assigned to the FY2025 budget) and a budgeted June 30 balance of $0. That is the schedule’s own presentation only — never read the $1,400,000 / $0 budget-column balances as actual fund balances. The actual balances are July 1 $6,904,316 and June 30 $6,513,644, shown in the rollforward below.

Revenues by source — actual

Taxes
$30,172,581
Charges for services
$2,737,076
Intergovernmental
$2,572,343
Fines, fees and forfeitures
$1,402,165
Other
$480,395
Licenses and permits
$389,987
Contributions
$74,462
Investment income
$41,846
Total revenues (actual)
$37,870,855

Expenditures by function — actual

Public safety
$16,934,525
General government
$8,948,389
Judicial
$4,622,417
Public works
$3,464,498
Culture and recreation
$2,149,147
Housing and development
$850,187
Debt service
$588,552
Health and welfare
$158,570
Total expenditures (actual)
$37,716,285

Budget columns, other financing, and rollforward

 Original budgetFinal budgetActualVariance vs. final
Revenues$34,297,665$37,986,615$37,870,855−$115,760
Expenditures$34,136,295$38,925,245$37,716,285+$1,208,960
Transfers in (actual)$1,788,295
Transfers out (actual)−$3,432,867
Proceeds from sale of assets (actual)$1,099,330
Net other financing sources (actual)−$545,242
Net change in fund balance−$390,672
Fund balance, July 1 (actual)$6,904,316
Fund balance, June 30 (actual)$6,513,644

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), General Fund Budget-and-Actual schedule, pp. 24–25. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Debt & long-term liabilities

FY2025 Audited

As of June 30, 2025. Bonded debt is shown on its own line and kept separate from the county’s other obligations: contracts payable, certificates of participation, notes, and leases are not bonded debt, and neither are the pension liability or the landfill post-closure liability.

Bonded debt — bonds payable (governmental)$11,176,530
Total governmental-activities debt (bonds payable + contracts payable + certificates of participation + notes + leases)$51,305,656
Net pension liability — primary government$2,792,034
Net OPEB liability — primary government$0 reported
Landfill post-closure care liability (business-type)$6,676,206
Total liabilities — primary government$72,033,995

OPEB: no OPEB liability, asset, or deferred amounts for the primary government appear on the Statement of Net Position. The only OPEB amounts in the ACFR belong to the Health Department component unit (a net OPEB asset of $109,430) — a component-unit figure, not a county figure.

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Statement of Net Position pp. 17–18; reconciliation p. 21; debt tables pp. 136–137; MD&A. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Debt by instrument — governmental activities

Each instrument class is shown separately, as the ACFR reports it; they are never merged into a single “bonded debt” figure. Only bonds payable is bonded debt.

InstrumentDetailAmount
Bonds payableGO Sales Tax Bonds, Series 2021 $4,326,530 + Series 2025 revenue bonds (animal control facility) $6,850,000$11,176,530
Contracts payableHospital Authority Series 2014 $22,816,413 + Series 2019 $8,650,000 + Series 2020 $199,569$31,665,982
Certificates of participationSeries 2018 (Administration Building)$5,373,347
Notes payableCurrent $386,952 + noncurrent $2,074,526$2,461,478
Leases payableCurrent $213,598 + noncurrent $414,721$628,319
Total governmental debt $51,305,656
Business-type debt — Landfill notes payable (current $134,307 + noncurrent $685,186)$819,493
Total primary-government debt$52,125,149

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), pp. 17–18, 21; MD&A; debt tables pp. 136–137. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Other long-term liabilities — not debt

These obligations are reported separately in the ACFR and are never added into any debt total above.

Net pension liability — primary government (governmental $2,675,017 + business-type $117,017)$2,792,034
Compensated absences (governmental; current $2,045,922 + noncurrent $681,974)$2,727,896
Landfill post-closure care liability (business-type, noncurrent)$6,676,206
Interest payable (governmental)$505,333
Net OPEB liability — primary government$0 reported

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Statement of Net Position pp. 17–18; reconciliation p. 21. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Proprietary funds

FY2025 Audited — EXTRACTED-UNDER-503

Business-type activities — the county’s Airport, Landfill, and Transit enterprise funds, June 30, 2025. Business-type net position of $27,637,778 includes an unrestricted deficit of −$3,758,040 (see Disclosures).

Net position by fund

FundNet positionChange in FY2025
Airport$24,270,258−$1,789,302
Landfill$3,367,520−$2,029,172
Transit$0+$6,956
Total business-type net position$27,637,778−$3,811,518
Net investment in capital assets — Airport$25,116,650
Net investment in capital assets — Landfill$6,169,637
Net investment in capital assets — Transit$109,531
Net investment in capital assets — total$31,395,818
Unrestricted — Airport−$846,392
Unrestricted — Landfill−$2,802,117
Unrestricted — Transit−$109,531
Unrestricted — total−$3,758,040

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Proprietary Funds statements, pp. 28–29. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Liabilities presentation & capital assets

The proprietary-fund statement reports liabilities gross; the government-wide statement eliminates internal balances. Both totals are the ACFR’s own — the difference is a presentation difference, not an error. Use $7,938,019 for government-wide displays and $9,047,771 only for proprietary-fund displays, labeled as such.

Proprietary statement total liabilities, gross (Landfill $7,874,793; Airport $1,040,299; Transit $132,679)$9,047,771
Less “due to other funds” internal balances eliminated government-wide−$1,109,752
Government-wide business-type liabilities$7,938,019
Capital assets, net — governmental $71,135,740 + business-type $32,215,311$103,351,051
Landfill post-closure care liability (rose $1,000,277 in FY2025, from $5,675,929)$6,676,206

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Proprietary Funds statement p. 28; Statement of Net Position pp. 17–18; MD&A capital-assets table. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Component units

FY2025 Audited — EXTRACTED-UNDER-503

Discretely presented component units of Habersham County — legally separate entities. Every figure in this section is a component-unit figure, not a county figure, and is never included in any county total on this page.

Component-unit net position (June 30, 2025)

Component unitNet position
Habersham County Development Authority (component unit)$3,914,961
Habersham County Health Department (component unit)$620,612
Total discretely presented component units$4,535,573
Investment in capital assets (component units — all Development Authority)$2,547,905
Unrestricted (component units)$1,878,044
Restricted for OPEB (component units — Health Department net OPEB asset)$109,430
Restricted for other (component units)$194
Total component-unit net position$4,535,573

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Component Units combining statement, p. 34. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Component-unit activities (FY2025)

Expenses — Health Department (component unit), health & welfare$1,410,703
Expenses — Development Authority (component unit), housing & development$161,567
Total component-unit expenses$1,572,270
Program revenues — charges for services (component units)$468,337
Program revenues — operating grants and contributions (component units)$913,048
Total component-unit program revenues$1,381,385
Net (expense) revenue (component units)−$190,885
General revenues (component units — all Development Authority)$43,862
Change in component-unit net position (Development Authority −$107,705; Health Department −$39,318)−$147,023
Component-unit net position, July 1$4,682,596
Component-unit net position, June 30$4,535,573

The Health Department component unit was audited by other auditors. The Development Authority is the same entity as the FY2026 budget book’s Industrial Development Authority shown in the adopted-budget section above — the two presentations are never added together.

Source: ACFR FY2025 (audited), Component Units combining statement of activities, p. 35. ACFR PDF (UGA TED) · Extracted under TED 503.

Disclosures & caveats

Two source bases, kept separate

This page uses two documents and never blends them: the [FY2026 Adopted] budget (Annual Budget FY 2026, approved June 30, 2025, downloaded directly as a PDF from the county’s Document Center) and the [FY2025 Audited] Annual Comprehensive Financial Report for the year ended June 30, 2025. FY2025 figures describe the year ended June 30, 2025 — they are not calendar-2025 or current-year figures.

Audited figures extracted during the TED outage — spot re-verification owed

The UGA TED portal returned HTTP 503 (“Down for maintenance”) on every direct-download attempt on October 23, 2026 (initial attempt plus retries, including a final retry after extraction). All FY2025 audited figures were therefore extracted from the search-indexed full text of the TED PDF, not from a local extraction of the downloaded document. Every audited figure was confirmed two independent ways within the text — a table footing plus a second statement or table — before inclusion; figures that could not be confirmed two ways were excluded. A verification re-download and spot re-check of the audited figures is owed when TED recovers.

Transmittal-letter totals do not reconcile

The FY2026 budget book’s transmittal letter states all-funds and General Fund totals that are higher than, and do not reconcile to, the document’s own summary tables. The headline totals on this page are the summary-table totals (budget pp. 36–37), which foot exactly in every direction — not the transmittal letter’s figures.

SPLOST VII appears two ways in the budget book

The SPLOST VII fund statement (pp. 202–203) shows expenditures of $15,675,546; the government-wide combining summary (pp. 36–37) shows the SPLOST fund at $15,517,324. The difference is the fund’s $158,222 transfer toward Landfill capital, which the summary presentation nets out. Each figure is labeled with its basis wherever it appears on this page.

Airport overview misprint

The budget book’s Airport overview page contains a $100 misprint. The Airport figures on this page come from the fund statements (pp. 222–225), whose detail foots to the totals shown.

Restated beginning net position

FY2025 beginning net position was restated for a change in accounting principle: −$1,204,911 governmental activities, −$44,621 business-type activities, −$1,249,532 in total. Governmental activities moved from a restated beginning balance of $39,258,151 to $45,039,237.

Component units are not the county

The FY2025 ACFR reports two discretely presented component units: the Habersham County Development Authority and the Habersham County Health Department (the Health Department was audited by other auditors). Component-unit figures are not county figures; where they appear on this page they are labeled as component-unit figures. This dashboard covers Habersham County government only — no City of Clarkesville document or figure is used.

Fund basis vs. government-wide basis

Fund-basis figures (modified accrual) come from the governmental fund statements; government-wide figures (accrual) come from the Statement of Net Position and Statement of Activities. The two bases measure different things — for example, FY2025 governmental revenues are $62,149,123 on the fund basis and $63,231,004 on the government-wide basis — and each figure on this page is labeled with its basis.

Verification

Every breakdown table on this page was sum-checked against its printed total before publication: 92 checks, 92 passing, 0 failing. The budget book’s Budget Resolution pages are image-only in the PDF text layer, so no figure on this page comes from them.

Population is a 2023 figure

The population of 48,757 shown on this page is a 2023 figure: it is the FY2025 ACFR statistical table’s 2023 value (2024/2025 data unavailable there) and is printed in the FY2026 budget book (p. 232, sourced there to DataUSA / Census QuickFacts / GDOL). It is never labeled on this page as a 2025 or 2026 population.

Proprietary-fund presentation difference

The proprietary-fund statement reports total liabilities of $9,047,771 gross, while the government-wide Statement of Net Position reports business-type liabilities of $7,938,019. The $1,109,752 difference is “due to other funds” internal balances eliminated government-wide — a presentation difference, not an error. Each total is used only in its own presentation (see Proprietary funds).

Business-type unrestricted deficit

Business-type unrestricted net position is a deficit of −$3,758,040 (Landfill −$2,802,117; Transit −$109,531; Airport −$846,392), driven in part by the Landfill’s post-closure care liability of $6,676,206, which rose $1,000,277 during FY2025. The $27,637,778 business-type net position total is never shown on this page without this composition.

FY2025 fund-balance increase was debt-driven

Governmental revenues fell $3,984,077 short of expenditures in FY2025. Governmental fund balances still rose $5,193,842 only because the county issued $8,190,825 of new long-term debt (including the $6,850,000 Series 2025 bonds) and realized $1,101,905 of asset-sale proceeds. The increase is not an operating surplus.

No FY2026 millage rate

The FY2026 budget book prints only tax-year 2024 rollback rates (county 11.771 mills; EMS 1.043; Hospital Bond 0.781) in its transmittal letter — prior-year rates, not an FY2026 levy. No millage figure is published on this page as an FY2026 rate.

General Fund budget-column balances are presentation only

The General Fund budget-and-actual schedule’s budget columns print a July 1 balance of $1,400,000 and a budgeted June 30 balance of $0. Those are the schedule’s own presentation — not actual fund balances — and are never published as such on this page. The actual balances are July 1 $6,904,316 and June 30 $6,513,644 (see General Fund — budget vs. actual).

Sources

Annual Budget FY 2026 / Operating & Capital Budget FY2026 — Habersham County, Georgia. Adopted (approved June 30, 2025). Listed as “FY 2026 Budget” (file ID 10343) in the county Document Center.habershamga.com
Habersham County, Georgia — Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, For the Fiscal Year Ended June 30, 2025. Audited by Rushton, LLC; report dated December 26, 2025; unmodified opinions. Extracted under TED 503 — see the re-verification notice above.UGA TED (PDF)